The Seventh Seal (1957)

I wasn’t sure whether to watch this film quite yet as of lately I’ve been watching more ~heavier~ films but I watched it anyways because it’s been on my to-watch list for so long. I’d seen two Bergman films before this one, Wild Strawberries and Persona. After each film I found myself thinking about them for few and wanting to watch them again.

The Seventh Seal wasn’t an exception- I’m dying to buy this film so I can watch it again and analyze certain scenes. However this one made much more sense meaning that the theme or basic question was very blunt and open rather than some of his later works like Persona.

With that being said I need to see it again because I feel like half of it glazed right over me; I knew what was going on but after a few more viewings things will start fitting together and make much more sense. But honestly that is fine with me. That is a sign of a film that is well-made: it impacted me but there is still so much to garner from that film that I missed in the first viewing.

One of the things that struck me the most was Death. He was so stark compared to everything else, and there was quite a bit of darkness in that film. There is a scene where Antonius walks out of the frame and then a second or two later Death appears from the left out of the frame. I jumped in my seat because of how overwhelming he was. He suddenly appears when I believe Antonius has just finished talking about being happy amongst friends (??? correct me if I’m wrong) and how Death enters the frame: sudden shift in music, much deeper and darker, and the size of Death. He is not a measly little speck in the background but rather as large or perhaps larger than Antonius.

My favorite characters were Jof and Mia :) Very sweet, accepting, trying to find joy out of everything. It broke my heart in the scene were Jof was forced to dance on the table.

My overall thoughts on this film are very positive. Bergman is a genius in his directing (no surprise there) and I’m so thankful that I can finally attest to that claim. So for me: more Bergman films please!!!

One thought on “The Seventh Seal (1957)

  1. filmgeekwatching June 25, 2013 / 10:17 pm

    OMG! This is my favourite Bergman film ever…I just love the cinematography here..it was so morbid yet beautiful..Interesingly Maria mentioned the Swedish word for Wild Strawberries-Smultronstället..Incidently the next film Wild strawberries was made there and it have some remnants of The Seventh Seal. I loved Max Von Sydow (Antonious Block) acting there..I can totally related to what I feel in this film..I actually wrote alot on The Seventh Seal..Here are the links to read :)

    http://filmgeekwatching.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/some-musings-on-ingmar-bergmans-the-seventh-seal-det-sjunde-inseglet/

    BTW Wild Strawberries is amazing too

Leave a Reply

