Is It Really All That Fun?: A Comparison and Contrast of the Beginning and Ending of “Cabaret”

Here is a post I wrote last summer comparing and contrasting the beginning and end of “Cabaret”

Moviefellas

cabaret-1972-14-g

It has been at least three months since I first watched Cabaret and the ending of that film still haunts me. It’s such a contrast compared to the opening of the film: light, cheery, carefree, exciting, dazzling, exhilarating. How it got from point A to point B is the rest of the film. I’m so intrigued by the beginning and end of the film that I decided it would be a perfect choice for my first post in my series: A Close Look at a Scene.

THE OPENING SCENE

Let me begin by saying first and foremost: I absolutely love Bob Fosse. Granted the only other film I have seen of his is All That Jazz but personally I think if you’ve seen one film and you love it, that director is for you. That is the case for me with Bob Fosse and Carol Reed. The film opens to a black screen…

View original post 840 more words

Leave a Reply

